Album Reviews

We Are A Team
Ceres We Are A Team Punk Rock Theory
Friday, May 10, 2019 - 16:35
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Australia’s Ceres has been a bit of a doom and gloom band up until now. Not in a metal kinda way. But the lyrics weren’t always the happiest around. No more of that now! Vocalist Tom Lanyon has found love and as he states in opening song ‘Marriage,’ he is gonna get happy.

What does that mean for the songs though? Well, nothing much has changed really. ‘We Are A Team’ still very much sounds like a Ceres album. Songs start off quiet with almost whispered vocals before twinkly, sprightly guitar lines sneak in and then the whole thing explodes. It’s a formula that has been done before, both by Ceres and other bands. *cough* Jimmy Eat World *cough* But it still works. Well, for the most part anyway.

There are a couple of tracks on here that don’t quite make the cut.‘Water The Garden’suffers from a weak chorus, ‘Kiss Me Crying’ doesn’t really go anywhere and the sappy acoustic closer that is ‘Something Good’ doesn’t live up to its title. But the songs on this album are a team as well and the stronger tracks carry the weaker ones, making ‘We Are A Team’ a solid enough album that is well worth your time.


Track listing:

  1. Marriage
  2. Collarbone    
  3. Me & You    
  4. Dancing Patterns
  5. Water The Garden
  6. Stay Awake
  7. Viv In The Front Seat    
  8. Dumb Smile
  9. Kiss Me Crying    
  10. I Feel Better Outside
  11. Something Good