Listen to Super Unison’s new track
Wednesday, September 28, 2016 - 20:17
submitted by

As they prepare for the release of their debut full-length Auto on October 14th, Oakland, CA trio Super Unison, which features Meghan O’Neil Pennie on bass/vocals, Justin Renniger on drums, and Kevin DeFranco on guitar, have premiered another single off of the album.  Listen to “Broken” on NPR’s All Songs Considered.  "The song is about self-preservation," O'Neil Pennie tells NPR. "Sometimes you have to walk away from something that's not good for you, despite the pressures of obligation and guilt. Some people may not understand, but you know your own feelings better than anyone."
Within Auto, Super Unison keep things fast paced and smartly aggressive at every twist and turn.  Recorded at Atomic Garden Studios by Jack Shirley (Oathbreaker, Deafheaven, Loma Prieta), Auto is concise and intense with most frantic songs coming in at the two minute mark.   The album offers a more refined sound than the trio’s 2014 self-titled EP debut, and introduces a wash of discordant melody and texture into the fray.  See Super Unison play songs off of Auto as they tour the west coast down and over to The Fest in Gainesville on October 30th.