Album Reviews

Six Feet Deep
Tightwire Six Feet Deep Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, October 21, 2018 - 12:19
submitted by

- by Christophe Vanheygen

How much pop punk can one take? Well, frankly, not a lot if you – like me – have heard most of the “classic albums” and don’t think it’ll ever get any better.

And still, Tightwire’s debut on Red Scare is pretty close to the perfect dose of high-octane pop punk in the finest tradition of The Queers, Teenage Bottlerocket and other Screeching

Yup, you sure have heard this all before. Except for the sometimes dark and gloomy content of the songs (the record is called ‘Six Feet Deep’, you know), all the songs just dig (hah!) into
the magical formula of the aforementioned bands.

This means: short, singalong-able melodic punk tunes with more hooks and melodies than guitar chords.

Before you start yawning, like I did when I thought these guys’d be just another bunch of Copyrights-copycats, there is a catch to ‘Six Feet Deep’. Ready?

Tightwire has kept the album so tight and wired that you won’t have the chance to get bored. How tight? Well, thirteen-songs-in-nineteen-minutes-tight. That’s, like, very tight.
Basically, this is the way how pop punk works. This is how you can keep a record fresher than an avocado in a Tupperware box.

Don’t try to be the rocket scientist, just be the rocket.


Track listing:

  1. Draggin' Me
  2. Six Feet Deep
  3. Spell On Me
  4. Guts
  5. Pentagram Tattoo
  6. Don't Like To Lose
  7. Told Ya
  8. Hidden Planet
  9. Simple Question
  10. Body Language
  11. Don't Wanna Wait
  12. Out of It
  13. Closing Time
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.