Album Reviews

Escalating Quickly
Ten Foot Pole Escalating Quickly Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, June 13, 2019 - 07:49
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

On their first new album since 2004, Ten Foot Pole do a whole bunch of things. Except impress. That they most certainly don’t.

‘Escalating Quickly’ comes with 11 new songs, every single one of which is packed with melodic riffs, cheesy keyboards, vocal harmonies and non-stop pounding drums up to the point that it all sounds so cluttered that even Marie Kondo would throw her hands up in despair.

Speaking of what it sounds like... I know that Ryan Greene is the man behind making some of my favorite 90ies punk rock albums sound awesome, but this one can only be described as completely soulless with the drums and the incredibly annoying guitar on ‘Forever Road’ fighting for first place in the ‘what sounds worst’ category.

I’m not sure what happened here, but I doubt anyone was waiting 15 years to hear a song like ‘Long Night’ or ‘The Antidote’.


Track listing:


  1. Everything Dies
  2. Don't Be A Dick
  3. Numb
  4. Forever Road
  5. Long Night
  6. Victim Of Humility
  7. The Jackals
  8. The Antidote
  9. I Hate The Night
  10. Unbroken
  11. Goodbye Sunny Days


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.