Album Reviews

Losers Of The Year
Sludgeworth Losers Of The Year Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, March 11, 2023 - 12:58
submitted by

Going into ‘Losers Of The Year,’ pretty much the only thing I knew about Chicago punk pioneers Sludgeworth was that it was the side project of Dan Vapid (who was still in Screeching Weasel at the time). This posthumous compilation album was originally released back in 1995 on Lookout! Records and has now gotten a re-release with two previously unreleased tracks as an added bonus.

The 17 songs that make up the album are a mix of melodic punk with a Midwest twist. Think Naked Raygun meets early Face To Face. Every single song on here packs some serious urgency with guitars, drums and vocals all vying for equal amounts of attention. If you are looking for a nostalgic throwback to the sounds of yesteryear, Red Scare and Sludgeworth have got you covered!


Losers Of The Year track list:

  1. Waste It Away    
  2. Someday    
  3. Anytime
  4. Only One
  5. Another Day    
  6. I Analyze
  7. Never Say Never
  8. Follow
  9. Over And Over
  10. She's Not Disposable
  11. Cry Baby
  12. Nearest One To Stand Behind
  13. Angry Man
  14. Two Feet On The Ground
  15. You And I
  16. To Be The Same
  17. Here For A While


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.