Album Reviews

Reggie And The Full Effect 41
Monday, February 26, 2018 - 20:14
submitted by

- by Nate Hennon

For those who don't know what or who Reggie and The Full Effect is, this bonkers/therapeutic "side project" of the multi-instrumentalist, pop-punk troubadour James Dewees is always full of surprises and a different take on modern pop music. Even though Dewees started the project as a fun thing to do between tour and album cycles, it turned into a legit piece of art. (It is safe to call this art, right? Yeah, yeah its art).


However, much like other aging Punk Rockers' solo work of late, the latest Reggie album, "41", is another introspective album rather than a dumb party one. Much like "Songs Not to Get Married to" and "Last Stop: Crappy Town," Dewees has a distinct concept he is addressing on "41". Rather than discussing divorce or substance abuse, "41" is an album focused on death, dying and grief. With songs like "Heart Break," "New Years Day" and "Off Delaware" clearly being about the death of a loved one, it is hard to not see this album as a therapy session.


To be honest, I find all Reggie album enjoyable, but "Sad Reggie" is more interesting than "Happy, Happy Fun time Reggie." The album focuses on a particularly difficult time in Dewees' life which helped produce some of his most compelling and moving songwriting, lyrics, musicianship and vocal performance. The guy may be a bit out-there, but he can write a damn good pop song that is equal parts sad and enjoyable.


Track listing:

  1. il Sniffy Incontra
  2. il Pesce Svedese
  3. Alone Again
  4. Broke Down
  5. Heartbreak
  6. Karate School
  7. The Horrible Year
  8. New Years Day
  9. Maggie
  10. Channing Tatum Space Rollerblading Montage M...
  11. You've Got Secrets
  12. Trap(ing) Music (feat Common Denominator)
  13. And Next with Feeling
  14. Off Delaware
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.