Album Reviews

Set Us Free
Reconciler Set Us Free Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, February 3, 2019 - 13:00
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Reconciler is a new-ish band out of Atlanta, GA who got their start back in ‘16. They just released their debut full-length, ‘Set Us Free’, via A-F Records and it comes with a mission statement that is nicely encapsulated in two of the song titles: opening track ‘Honest Words’ and ‘Just Wanna Play Rock n Roll’.

It’s a mission statement they more than live up to throughout 11 excellent melodic punk rock songs that pack the same kind Americana vibe that Against Me! employs so well. Need another point of reference? Well, look no further than fellow Atlanta natives New Junk City (one of my favorites from last year). Picking favorites is pretty much impossible here. ‘Set Us Free’ is an accomplished debut by a very promising band.


Track listing:

  1. Honest Words
  2. Constants
  3. All We Have
  4. January
  5. Just Say It
  6. Rust
  7. Take It Away
  8. Just Wanna Play Rock n Roll
  9. Don't Cry
  10. Not What I Used To Be
  11. Damn The Weather


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.