Album Reviews

No Change in the Weather
Pulley - No Change In The Weather
Friday, November 18, 2016 - 13:57
submitted by

This year marks the 20th anniversary of Pulley’s debut album, “Esteem Driven Engine”. To celebrate the occasion, the band has now released “No Change In The Weather”, their first new album in twelve years.


Then ten tracks that make up “No Change In The Weather” more than live up to the album title, seeing as the band picks up right where they left off. And as soon as opening track “No I In Team” gains speed, it’s as if the twelve-year gap in between releases simply never happened.


The album is not just a nostalgic throwback to the sounds of yesteryear though. The band wrote banging tracks and have no room for filler. Every single one of these tracks comes with the kind of lightning-fast drums, melodic leads, catchy choruses and big hooks that made us swoon back when we first heard “Cashed In” on Punk-O-Rama vol. 2.


Know how parents always tell you it’s impossible to pick a favorite among their kids? Obviously that’s a lie. There’s always a favorite. Here though I’m really hard-pressed to pick favorites. “Different” has an amazing flow to it and comes with all the backup whoa’s you could ask for. “Sometimes” has the album’s best chorus. And “Syndrome” is the best song Pennywise never wrote. And there’s something flattering to be written about every single song on here.


If you have a soft spot for all of the 90s punk bands that called Fat Wreck or Epitaph home, then there simply is no excuse for you not to pick up a copy of “No Change In The Weather”.


Track listing:

  1. No "I" in team
  2. Different
  3. Fixing the Drought
  4. Sometimes
  5. Farewell
  6. Walk Away
  7. Friends
  8. The Other Side of Silence
  9. Syndrome
  10. Black Box
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.