Album Reviews

Tuesday, October 11, 2016 - 19:05
submitted by

On their first release boasting new material in 15 years, Fenix TX come out swinging with opening track “Spooky Action At A Distance”. It’s an upbeat song that takes you right back to the band’s Drive-Thru years. So no, Fenix TX isn’t doing anything new on “CRE.EP”, but they’re off to a good start.


Unfortunately, they kill off whatever momentum they got going with the opening track once they dig into “Church And State”, a lukewarm affair that recalls The Offspring’s worst novelty tracks. Luckily the other three tracks on here bring more enjoyable, mid-paced pop-punk to the table. Not too shabby, but it probably works best when viewed as a harmless throwback.


Track listing:

  1. Spooky Action at a Distance
  2. Church and State
  3. Bending Over Backwards
  4. Get Loose
  5. I Don't Know What to Say
  6. A Song for Everyone (Vinyl Only)
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.