Album Reviews

Planes Mistaken For Stars - Prey
Thursday, October 20, 2016 - 17:39
submitted by

- by Christophe Vanheygen

Even during their initial run, Planes Mistaken for Stars never really fit in anywhere. Post-hardcore? Nope. Punk or metal? Naah. Emo then? Hardly.

They fit in dirty, cigarette smoke filled dives where shame and misfortune are being washed away with cheap bourbon. And where you’re either too drunk to sing along or too preoccupied bawling over lost loves and opportunities. ‘Prey’ still takes you to these dives. It’s hardly any different from ‘Mercy’ or ‘Up in them Guts’ in that regard. Having been away for about eight years hasn’t changed a thing for Planes Mistaken for Stars.

Is that bad? Hell no. This, dear readers, is what you call “an album”. From the opening chaos right up until the very last, sad note, ‘Prey’ takes you on a very cohesive trip through any form of rage and disappointment, of heartache and messy endings. You simply don’t want to miss any moment of it, despite the old wounds it may tear open.

Don’t go looking for “orgcore” sing-alongs here. Settle for layers of full-on guitars, fragile moments and pure melancholy. It hurts real good. Trust me.


Track listing:

  1. Dementia Americana
  2. Til' It Clicks
  3. Riot Season
  4. Fucking Tenderness
  5. She Who Steps
  6. Clean Up Mean
  7. Black Rabbit
  8. Pan In Flames
  9. Enemy Blinds
  10. Alabaster Cello
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.