Album Reviews

High On Drama
Noise By Numbers – High On Drama
Thursday, January 29, 2015 - 20:50
submitted by

Following up their 2011 album “Over Leavitt”, Chicago’s Noise By Numbers is back with a brand spanking new EP. “High On Drama” features six songs that show the band continually blurring the line between pop-punk and 80ies indie rock. If Hüsker Dü and Naked Raygun had a kid back in the day, Noise By Numbers could very well be it.

Featuring Dan Vapid (Screeching Weasel, the Methadones), Rick Uncapher (Textbook), Jeff Dean (All Eyes West) and Jimmy Jucido (Light FM), these guys are all about the groove and the melody. They also like to show off their flair for writing catchy hooks in songs like the title track and the awesome “Town Of Hamburg”. And for good measure they have thrown in a cover of the Lemonheads’ “Rudderless” as well. Solid job!

Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.