Album Reviews

Me First And The Gimme Gimmes - Rake It In
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 14:03
submitted by

For those of you who haven’t heard of the phenomenon that is Me First And The Gimme Gimmes (who are you?!), this band features Lagwagon’s Joey Cape and Dave Raun, NOFX’ Fat Mike, Foo Fighters’ Chris Shiflett and über-crooner Spike Slawson and they play punk rock covers of songs your mom used to like. And they have been doing so for a very long time.


Over the course of six albums, a live album and a shitload of singles, they have tackled pretty much every genre there is. What to do next? Release a greatest hits album! Well, other people’s greatest hits would actually be more accurate. Anyway, they hand-picked 17 of their favorite tracks and slapped them together on “Rake It In”. If you already own every single MFATGG album, there is no real reason to buy this one. If however you are new to the band (again… who are you?!), you are sure to enjoy the band’s take on classics like “Over The Rainbow”, “Country Roads” and “End Of The Road”.


Track listing:

  1. The Times They Are a-Changing
  2. Rainbow Connection
  3. City of New Orleans
  4. Summertime
  5. All My Loving
  6. Straight Up
  7. Over the Rainbow
  8. Country Roads
  9. Sloop John B
  10. Jolene
  11. Uptown Girl
  12. Hats Off To Larry
  13. Desperado
  14. Lady
  15. San Francisco
  16. I Believe I Can Fly
  17. End of the Road
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.