Album Reviews

Wake The Fun Up
Mcrackins Wake The Fun Up Punk Rock Theory
Friday, June 30, 2023 - 11:11
submitted by

While Mcrackins has kept on playing shows in recent years (including a co-headlining stint at Italy’s Punk Rock Raduno), it has been a while since we have had the pleasure of checking out some new tuneage. Not sure how long it takes an egg to hatch, but I’m pretty sure it’s not 13 years. But here we are in the year of our lord 2023 and the follow-up to 2010’s ‘It Ain’t Over Easy’ is finally out.

Recorded remotely in their individual home studios during the pandemic, Mcrackins blasted through the process of writing and recording this album in only a few weeks with the help of  longtime producer Todd Stefanson. The result is called ‘Wake The Fun Up,’ the band’s 17th (!) album, and it comes with 11 songs that the Canadian bubblegum pop-punk masters burn through in just over 23 minutes. Expect tons of buzzing guitars, catchy hooks, slick choruses and vocal harmonies for days. Like my mom’s eggs Benedict, it’s a familiar recipe but it still tastes good. Shoutout to ‘Lockdown Lonely’, the title track, 'I Hate It' and ‘Same As it Ever Was’.


Wake The Fun Up track list:

  1. Annabelle
  2. Lockdown Lonely
  3. Back In The Day
  4. Gladiator
  5. Up To 11
  6. L.A.M.P.
  7. Wake The Fun Up
  8. I Hate It
  9. Same As It Ever Was
  10. Shit Just Got Real
  11. Bubba Gub
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.