Album Reviews

Mess Of Everything
Local Drags Mess Of Everything Punk Rock Theory
Tuesday, March 21, 2023 - 13:50
submitted by

Following up on 2021’s ‘Keep Me Glued,’ Local Drags is back with album number three. On ‘Mess Of Everything,’ the Springfield, IL based band once again delivers ten bright and shiny power pop tunes that are chock full of catchy melodies, rhythms that will have you nodding along in no time and all the feels. Yes, all of them.

The spirit of the Replacements and Cheap Trick is still strong within these songs, but this time around Local Drags mastermind Lanny Durbin didn’t stop there. On what was already a solid foundation, he went and incorporated influences like ‘Summerteeth’-era Wilco and some Tom Petty on songs like ‘Call You A Baby’ and ‘Cheap Rates’. Everything you loved about the band’s previous albums is still very much there, but ‘Mess Of Everything’ also packs more layered guitars for your listening pleasure along with a slightly darker undercurrent on cuts like ‘Good For Nothin’ and ‘Totally Down’. Feeling bad never sounded this good. 


Mess Of Everything track list:

  1. Keep An Eye
  2. Heard About It
  3. Call You Baby
  4. Feelin In Stereo
  5. Good For Nothin
  6. Totally Down
  7. Cheap Rates
  8. On The Slide
  9. Aloe
  10. Better Now 
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.