Album Reviews

Crash Forward
Latecomer Crash Forward Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, March 7, 2019 - 10:57
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Courtesy of Latecomer, we are treated to eleven melodic punk rock songs on ‘Crash Forward’. And it really is a treat. These Pittsburgh natives don’t just know their way around a good hook and a catchy melody, they also effortlessly combine them with plenty of rough edges, gang vocals and tons of energy. In short, all the stuff that makes a solid punk rock record.

Check out ‘Ketamine’ for a fun blast of Lookout! style pop-punk or the bar room brawler that is ‘Side Iron Blues’ while the title track throws in some twang. Whatever they go for, the end result is nothing if not satisfying. Also kudos to A-F Records who have another winner on their hands following excellent releases by Reconciler, Lee Corey Oswald, Aspiga and many, many more!


Track listing:

  1. Do You Walk?
  2. Elvis
  3. Baseball
  4. Ketamine
  5. Bummin' Me Out
  6. Crash Forward
  7. Side Iron Blues
  8. All Things Considered
  9. Next Year
  10. Again
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.