Album Reviews

Every Little Thought
Hurry Every Little Thought
Monday, February 19, 2018 - 19:58
submitted by

Hurry got its start as a solo project for singer/songwwriter Matt Scottoline, but has since evolved into a power pop trio straight out of Philadelphia.


Compared to their previous releases, ‘Every Little Thought’ finds Hurry in less of… well, a hurry. These songs are more of a leisurely stroll. And they are as poppy as they are dreamy and sweet. Scottoline admittedly takes cues from the likes of Teenage Fanclub, Yo La Tengo and Guided By Voices, but you will just as easily hear a lot of Nada Surf (‘Read Between The Lines’) and even pick up on some Posies residue (‘On The Streets’). I mean, if you need to pick influences, you could end up making worse choices. And I have to hand it to Hurry, they have come up with an album’s worth of gorgeous songs that more than hold their own next to those big names.


Track listing:

  1. Every Little Thought
  2. Read Between The Lines
  3. Waiting For You
  4. Hanging On
  5. On The Streets
  6. Heatwave
  7. Time and Time Again
  8. Separation
  9. Jamie
  10. The One I Want
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.