Album Reviews

Overthinking Everything
Footballhead Overthinking Everything Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, April 28, 2024 - 14:21
submitted by

Listening to ‘Overthinking Everything’, it is pretty obvious that front Ryan Nolen grew up in the early 00’s with the songs of Blink-182, Third Eye Blind, and Jimmy Eat World as the soundtrack. Accompanied by Adam Siska, Liam Burns, Robbie Kuntz and snow ellet, Footballhead emerges from the Chicago suburbs with a sound that is drenched in hook-laden… well, what? Is it alt-rock? Emo? Pop punk? Let’s go with all of the above.

The one thing they all have in common? Well, two things actually. All of the songs on ‘Overthinking Everything’ come with a sense of instant familiarity and they all sound friggin’ amazing. Whether it’s opener ‘Rug’, ‘Tightrope’ or the quieter shoegaze-y ‘Like A Blister’ or the unholy coupling of Death Cab ForCutie and Pinback that is ‘Are You Sorry On The Way Back Down?’, this album is like a trip down memory lane. Which is not meant as a diss at all. There’s a reason we still listen to those songs 20 years later. And here’s a whole fresh batch of ‘em!


Overthinking Everything track list:

  1. Rug
  2. Snowball
  3. Tightrope
  4. Like A Blister
  5. Habits
  6. Talking Nonsense
  7. Are You Sorry On The Way Back Down?
  8. Ugly Day
  9. Pilot
  10. Etched You In
  11. So I Stay (Petty)
  12. My Plan
  13. Overthinking Everything
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.