Album Reviews

Either/Or (Expanded Version)
Elliott Smith - Either/Or (Expanded Version)
Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 17:17
submitted by

To celebrate the 20th anniversary of Elliott Smith’s beloved album “Either/Or”, Kill Rock Stars has released an expanded version of the 1997 classic. All of the songs from the original have been carefully remastered from the original tapes under the supervision of Larry Crane, while the second disc features five live multi-track recordings from the Yo Yo A Go Go Festival in Olympia WA in 1997, as well as three previously unreleased studio recordings and one b-side track.

Heavily indebted to classic pop but still peppered with plenty of grit, these songs are easily some of the best Smith has ever written. Luckily, Crane kept the rough edges intact while at the same time making these gems shine even more. If you are a longtime fan, you will find plenty of reasons here to fall in love all over again with “Either/Or”. If this marks the first time you will hear songs like “Pictures Of Me”, “Rose Parade”, “Angeles” or “Between The Bars”… boy, you’d better brace yourself.


Track listing:

  1. Speed Trials (remastered)
  2. Alameda (remastered)
  3. Ballad of Big Nothing (remastered)
  4. Between the Bars (remastered)
  5. Pictures of Me (remastered)
  6. No Name No. 5 (remastered)
  7. Rose Parade (remastered)
  8. Punch and Judy (remastered)
  9. Angeles (remastered)
  10. Cupid's Trick (remastered)
  11. 2:45 AM (remastered)
  12. Say Yes (remastered)
  13. My New Freedom (live)
  14. Pictures of Me (live)
  15. Angeles (live)
  16. Some Song (live)
  17. Rose Parade (live)
  18. New Monkey (keys)
  19. I Don't Think I'm Ever Gonna Figure It Out (remixed/remastered)
  20. I Figured You Out
  21. Bottle Up and Explode! (alternate version)