Album Reviews

Garbage People
Wimps Garbage People
Saturday, July 14, 2018 - 16:33
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Meet Rachel Ratner, Matt Nyce and David Ramm.  AKA Wimps, a Seattle-based three-piece armed with guitar, bass, drums, big hooks and a healthy sense of humor. On ‘Garbage People’, the band’s third album, they wield those weapons throughout thirteen songs in which they tackle serious subject matter like gender pay inequality and the decline in the bee population due to climate change. Or you know… as Trump would say, fiction. Oh, and there is a song about wanting to steal other people’s pizza. Which is badass. The song. Not stealing pizza. That is a deadly sin.

There are plenty of other bands out there with ‘funny’ songs. Thing is, most of the time those songs don’t come with a lot of replay value. Wimps’ cuts do. The band writes solid songs about the mundanities of everyday life. Songs that come with melodies that get stuck in your head, and which are just loud, punky and angular enough to be compared to everything from the Breeders and the Pixies to the B-52’s. And hell, they even added some cowbell this time around, which only makes their no-frills punk even better.


Track listing:

  1. Giant Brain
  2. Cave Life
  3. Garbage People
  4. Mope Around
  5. O.P.P.
  6. Procrastination
  7. Quitter
  8. Baggage
  9. Bees
  10. Wanna Go Out
  11. Trip Around the Sun
  12. Monday
  13. Insomnia



Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.