Album Reviews

Dude York Falling Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, August 15, 2019 - 10:37
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

On album number three, Seatlle’s Dude York deliver a pretty diverse bunch of songs that all pack big melodic hooks, unbridled joy and a ton of 90ies alt-rock throwbacks.

A lot of that diversity stems from the fact that for the first time, guitarist Peter Richards and bassist Claire England split both songwriting and vocal duties. That explains how they skip from the dance party that is ‘Box’ to Dinosaur Jr. worship in ‘Should’ve’ to then land on the Weezeresque ‘How It Goes’.

The cake on the album cover might not have made it. But if you are looking for a soundtrack for your next party, then ‘Falling’ will do just fine. It might not be the most original album out there, but they more than make up for it with slick and catchy songs that come with an instant sense of familiarity.


Track listing:

  1. Longest Time
  2. Box
  3. I’m the 1 4 U
  4. Should’ve
  5. Only Wish
  6. Unexpected
  7. How It Goes
  8. Falling
  9. Doesn’t Matter
  10. Let Down
  11. :15
  12. Making Sense
  13. DGAFAF (I know what’s real)
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.