Album Reviews

Turn The Tide
Don't Sleep Turn The Tide Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, September 10, 2020 - 08:36
submitted by

Whether you are talking about DYS, Dag Nasty, Down By Law, ALL or his work with the Sharpshooters or the Bandoleros, there is simply no denying that Dave Smalley has left quite the mark on the punk rock scene. Never one to rest on his laurels, he is already back at it now with ‘Turn The Tide,’ Don’t Sleep’s debut full-length out now on Mission Two Entertainment.

Backed up by former or current members of Very Americans, Safari So Good, The Commercials, Junction and In Wilderness, Smalley wastes zero seconds before storming out the gate with the just over one minute long opening track which roars to life with fast guitars and even faster drums. It’s a solid introduction that gets you pumped up for the remaining 11 tracks, which range from short hardcore punk blasts (‘Abandoned Us’, ‘Foundation’) to more melodic punk rock tuneage (‘Reflection’, ‘Walking In Sinai’) with even a dash of reggae in ‘The Wreckage’ and an altogether surprising closer in the form of ‘December’.

They cover a lot of ground on ‘Turn The Tide’ and even if it all may sound familiar enough for those of you who know Smalley’s previous output or... well, punk rock in general, there is actually a lot to enjoy here. These guys know their way around a good hook and have more than sufficient experience to know when to build things up for maximum effect, making for a dynamic and richly textured album that is over way too soon.


Track listing:

  1. Don't Sleep
  2. No Other Way
  3. Reflection
  4. True North
  5. Abandoned Us
  6. Prisoners
  7. We Remain
  8. Walking in Sinai
  9. Refine Me
  10. Foundation
  11. The Wreckage
  12. December