Album Reviews

The Weight And The Cost
Be Well The Weight And The Cost Punk Rock Theory
Friday, August 28, 2020 - 14:44
submitted by

It’s hardcore, Jim, but not as we know it.

Every now and then you come across this album where you know right away that it is something special. Doesn’t happen very often. Not nearly enough to be honest. But when it does, it reminds you of everything that made you fall in love with music in the first place. And after having spent quite some time already with ‘The Weight And The Cost’, I can honestly say that this is one of those albums for me.

When Be Well released their debut 7” with the songs ‘Strength For Breath’ and ‘Frozen’ (both of which can be found on here as well) late last year, I was already floored and eagerly awaiting more. And well, they more than delivered on their debut full-length. Whether it’s the way they tear into opening track ‘Meaningless Measures’, rage through the hardcore banger that is ‘Morning Light’ or whip out some post-rock grandeur during the second half of the title track, there isn’t a single moment on ‘The Weight And The Cost’ that isn’t short of amazing.

Of course, any band that features Battery frontman/producer extraordinaire Brian McTernan, Bane’s Aaron Dalbec, Darkest Hour’s Mike Schleibaum and Fairweather’s Peter Tsouras und Shane Johnson is bound to be pretty good, right? Turns out this really is a winning combination. The rhythm section is as tight and dynamic as can be, guitars shimmer, shine, soar and then rip everything to shreds while McTernan comes to terms with all of his doubts, fears and anxieties as he screams one second and gets all melodic the next.

Their love of 90ies hardcore shines on a song like ‘Tiny Little Pieces’ where you will be reminded of bands like The Movielife and Lifetime before these downright beautiful melodies come in and help lift the song to a whole other level. More album highlights come in the form of ‘Each Passing Day’ and the absolutely devastating ‘Confessional,' which rounds out a pretty much flawless album.

Album of the year contender? Hell yeah!


Track listing:

  1. Meaningless Measures
  2. Magic
  3. Strength For Breath
  4. Tiny Little Pieces
  5. Morning Light
  6. The Weight And The Cost
  7. Each Passing Day
  8. Frozen
  9. Aperture
  10. Longing
  11. Confessional
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.