Album Reviews

Age Of Unreason
Bad Religion Age Of Unreason Punk Rock Theory
Friday, May 10, 2019 - 16:30
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

‘Age Of Unreason’ is already album number seventeen for Bad Religion. And on it they simply do what they have been doing for almost forty years. And you can take that quite literal because if you have ever heard any of their other albums, you know exactly what you are going to get. Which in the case of Bad Religion, is not a bad thing because A. they know how to write a solid punk rock song and B. Greg Gaffin and Brett Gurewitz still have plenty to say. Maybe more so now than before. Because... you know, Trump.

Yes, everything from Trump’s wall and the alt-right movement to alternative facts and the disgust over politicians literally putting children in cages, it’s all here, present and accounted and neatly wrapped up in 14 songs that keep up the pace and sound instantly familiar. It’s fair to say that ‘Age Of Unreason’ is yet another solid addition to Bad Religion’s discography. Just don’t come in expecting any surprises, because you will be sorely disappointed.


Track listing:

  1. Chaos From Within
  2. My Sanity
  3. Do The Paranoid Style
  4. The Approach
  5. Lose Your Head
  6. End of History
  7. Age of Unreason
  8. Candidate
  9. Faces of Grief
  10. Old Regime
  11. Big Black Dog
  12. Downfall
  13. Since Now
  14. What Tomorrow Brings
  15. The Profane Rights of Man (bonus)
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.