Upcoming Releases

Don’t Tread On We!
The 1865 Don't Tread On We! Punk Rock Theory
Friday, January 11, 2019 - 21:10
submitted by

With their upcoming LP Don’t Tread On We!, out via Mass Appeal Records on January 25th 2019, New York-based blues-punk outfit The 1865 are cooking up a full meal that will tantalize your ear buds. Recently teased, “Buckshot” takes inspiration from 1865 America, post the Emancipation. Each song from the LP features different explorations of life in 1865 America, a land living in the shadows of the fallen Confederacy.

With a departure from Mass Appeal’s typical hip-hop sound, The1865 describe themselves as “Bad Brains meets Foo Fighters in a black woman’s hair salon for a cup of tea.” Formed in 2017 by musician/filmmaker Sacha Jenkins (The White Mandingos, The Wilding Incident), The 1865 came to life when joined by famed session musician/Pro-skateboarder Chuck Treece on drums and the Queen of Shoegaze Carolyn “Honeychild” Coleman (Apollo Heights, Badawi) on lead vocals/baritone guitar duties. The band later added Afro-Brazilian bassist Flora Lucini (Maafa), and drummer Jason “Biz” Lucas (Dragonz of Zynth) to the mix. The result is The 1865, a band whose lyrics are just as impactful as their undeniable sound and what Jenkins says “was a great way to create contemporary music that spoke to the past, but also spoke to the same things that continue to happen over and over again in our country.”
Stay Awake! Watch out for the double snakes!


Track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Peggy
  3. Buckshot
  4. Beholden
  5. Right Now!
  6. St. Augustine
  7. Runaway Bride
  8. John Brown's Gat
  9. Buttermilk
  10. Peace Pipe
  11. The Drifter
  12. Get Out