Album Reviews

The Yodees
The Yodees The Yodees Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, September 21, 2019 - 22:06
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

If you are like me and have spent many a sleepless night wondering if there any Brazilian Ramonescore bands, then you will be glad to know that yes, there are. Granted, the Bramones would have been a more logical name but these guys are went with The Yodees instead.

On their self-titled debut album, they crank out eight songs worth of pure unadulterated Ramones worshipping and totally get away with it. There’s just something about bubblegum melodies and buzzing guitars that goes together incredibly well and when done right, it never gets stale. And well, The Yodees do it right on songs like opener ‘Better Without Love’, the synth-enhanced ‘Loony’ and ‘Everybody Is Growing Up (But Me)’.

Original? Not very. Fun? Hell yes!


Track listing:

  1. Better Without Love    
  2. Void In My Heart    
  3. Loony    
  4. The Vitamin Shoppe Girl    
  5. Lost My Valentine    
  6. Second Chances    
  7. Everybody Is Growing Up (But Me)    
  8. Ally

Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.