Album Reviews

The Ride
Whips - The Ride
Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 10:43
submitted by

Milwaukee-based rock ‘n roll outfit Whips have a new album out! “The Ride” comes with nine songs that are as classic as they are exciting and savage. The title track kicks things off with a nice stomp, riffs that if they could speak would say things like ‘gnarly’ and Ashley Smith’s vocals, which are swooning and commanding in equal measures.

The other eight songs follow suit with “Pest Control” as my personal favorite. High-octane tunes with big hooks. And plenty of cowbell. Think Danko Jones meets Seratones and you’re not too far off. If you are looking for some serious in your face rock ‘n roll tunes, Whips deliver in spades on “The Ride””.


Track listing:

  1. The Ride
  2. Goldmine
  3. Nobody's Fool
  4. Pest Control
  5. Testify
  6. Dominate
  7. Medium
  8. Come On
  9. Ms. Terry