Album Reviews

Battle Scars
Too Bad Eugene Battle Scars Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, April 28, 2024 - 14:27
submitted by

Too Bad Eugene started out as an offshoot from Craig’s Brother with plenty of sonic similarities. So if melodic punk rock is your thing, you know you are in good hands here. I first heard of the band when they released their sophomore album ‘Moonlighting’ on Tooth & Nail back in 2002. I somehow missed the news that they released another album 20 years down the line in the form of 2022’s ‘Distance’, but I sure am glad I got to check out their new album, ‘Battle Scars,’ out now on People Of Punk Rock Records.

When it comes to writing über-melodic punk rock, Too Bad Eugene has the formula down pat. ‘Battle Scars’ packs nothing but bright melodies, tons of great riffs and leads and too many vocal harmonies to count. Think Pulley or any of the other 90’s melodic punk rock bands we grew up on. None of the songs on ‘Battle Scars’ are dragging, but a song like ‘Release Your Crown’ sees them taking things to a whole other level.


Battle Scars track list:

  1. Fool's Gold
  2. Divorce Story
  3. You Won't Know Me
  4. Sick
  5. Release Your Crown
  6. Shaking My Fist
  7. Astronomical (feat. Mercy Nigh)
  8. Running After
  9. I Still Hate Driving By Your Place
  10. Battle Song
  11. Making Peace With Clouds
  12. Nothing Remains (feat. Sam Nigh)
  13. Growing Young (feat. Rachel Nigh)
  14. 1619 (A Prayer of Repentance)
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.