Album Reviews

Rituals Of Life
Stretch Arm Strong Rituals Of Life Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, October 6, 2022 - 17:22
submitted by

Hardcore veterans Stretch Arm Strong are arguably one of the most influential bands around when it comes to blending hardcore fury with elements from emo, pop-punk and post-hardcore. Formed in early 1992 in South Carolina, they have had quite a run before calling it a day in 2005. Since then, they have reunited for a couple of shows, the most recent being the latest edition of Furnace Fest. In a recent feature with No Echo, they revealed they had written a couple of new songs. Whether or not those will ever see the light of day, remains to be seen.

For now though, you can get your ears in a frenzy with the reissue of ‘Rituals Of Life,’ which has been out of print for over 20 years. Hell, it is out of print again now with all of the color variants already completely sold out. Just goes to show that this is still an amazing album. Especially now that it sounds better than ever thanks to Jack Shirley (Joyce Manor, Deafheaven, Jeff Rosenstock) who completely remastered the album in The Atomic Garden in San Francisco for the vinyl release. Oh, and this one comes with the band's take on the Modern English classic 'Melt With You' as an additional bonus.


Rituals Of Life track listing:

  1. When Sorrow Falls
  2. Outside Looking    
  3. Second Chances    
  4. All We've Lost    
  5. Try to Forget    
  6. For Now    
  7. Pursuit of Happiness    
  8. Reach Out    
  9. Set Free    
  10. Through My Actions    
  11. To a Friend    
  12. Melt With You


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.