Album Reviews

Spirits - Unrest
Monday, September 18, 2017 - 18:15
submitted by

In the late spring of 2016, Boston’s Spirits spent two weeks holed up in their practice space, recording what would become “Unrest”. Mixed by Kurt Ballou and mastered by Brad Boatright, Spirits’ latest doesn't just sound good, but it is also a more than worthy follow-up to 2015’s “Discontent”. This straight edge melodic hardcore punk outfit really pushed themselves this time around. And it shows, because they ended up with an album that is sure to please all the Verse fans out there.


Armed with plenty of hard-hitting riffs, pummeling drums, breakdowns, pissed off vocals and all the other staples of the genre, Spirtis come well-prepared. They might not change the game on “Unrest”, but they have the rulebook down pat and get creative with familiar elements. If you are looking for some very solid melodic hardcore, then these 24 minutes and 37 seconds are for you.


Track listing:

  1. Human Credential
  2. Fearful Symmetry
  3. Osu
  4. The Syndicate
  5. Adopt Dont Shop
  6. Unruhe
  7. Eyes of Love
  8. Cerulean Blue
  9. Learn The Hard Way
  10. Anesthetized
  11. El Mundo Gira
  12. OR7



Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.