Album Reviews

The Soviettes - Rarities
Wednesday, November 2, 2016 - 12:56
submitted by

- by Christophe Vanheygen

You know those Friday nights when your fridge is empty, except for some leftovers that don’t really mix and match but somehow do end up in one awesome dish? Well, The Soviettes folded after three excellent records. But apparently they had some leftovers, B-sides and EP-tracks. So they chose the funnest bits, threw them all together and made an excellent dish.

None of the 18 songs are as tight and clean and harmony-filled as their last (and best) effort, ‘LP III’. Still, ‘Rarities’ is a rad listen in all its naivete and roughness. And it’s a fun experience to hear the band evolve towards that pop punk powerhouse they had become by the end. And if you read this far: congratulations. Here’s the coolest bit of the review: you can download it for free!

<Enter the very obvious Soviet communist “for the people” joke here>


Track listing:

  1. Hot Sauced and Peppered
  2. In the Red
  3. Go Lambs Go!
  4. Sandbox
  5. Matt's Song (Split Version)
  6. Sixty Days
  7. Latchkey
  8. Sunday AM
  9. The Nine to Life
  10. [email protected]
  11. Twin Cities Sound
  12. 30 Minutes or Less
  13. Mazacon
  14. Alright
  15. Plus One
  16. Old Man Reading a Book
  17. The Best of Me
  18. LPIII Original Intro