Album Reviews

Make Me Sick
New Found Glory - Make Me Sick
Thursday, June 1, 2017 - 20:54
submitted by

- by Nate Hennon

Back in 2000, I bought the New Found Glory self-titled album and it never left the giant cd book in my car for a few years (remember those?). But in typical punk rock fashion, once they exploded after their follow-up release, "Sticks and Stones," I stopped paying attention. It wasn't until a few years ago that I started to revisit their catalog. As said before,  "nostalgia is a hell of a drug."

Since this point in time, I frequently go back to these 20-year Pop punk veterans' work and was very excited to listen to what new things they have to offer. Luckily their latest release, "Makes Me Sick," is closer to their original work than their mid-career transitional period (see "Coming Home"). "Makes Me Sick" has a lot of the same feel as NFG's slower hits like "Head on Collision" and "All Down Hill From Here," but with new keyboard flair. I think this album is a good fit for those aging Pop Punkers, but I doubt it will catch the ears of any new fans. That is left to their live shows. They are fun live.


Track listing:

  1. Your Jokes Aren't Funny
  2. Party on Apocalypse
  3. Call Me Anti-Social
  4. Happy Being Miserable
  5. The Sound of Two Voices
  6. Blurred Vision
  7. Say It Don't Spray It
  8. Barbed Wire
  9. Short and Sweet
  10. The Cheapest Thrill