Album Reviews

Callsign: Proton
Manarovs - Callsign: Proton Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, April 4, 2024 - 17:18
submitted by

There’s no trace of a sophomore slump to be found on Manarovs’ second album. ‘Callsign: Proton’ comes with a whopping 15 new tracks that veer between pop-punk and Ramonescore.

On ‘Callsign: Proton’, the Savannah, Georgia based band prove themselves to be firm believers of the old  ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’ adage. So don’t expect them to reinvent the genre. And sure, they aren’t going to win any beauty contests with some of the vocals not being quite in tune and a couple of the guitar licks not sounding quite right. But there’s still plenty to be said for their tunes which come chock-full of buzzing guitars, melodic riffs and catchy choruses. Especially on the Lillingtons-flavored opener ‘Us Vs Them’ and the incredibly smooth ‘Just Wait,’ which in spite of its title is pretty relentless.


Callsign: Proton track list:

  1. Us vs Them    
  2. Bad Mission    
  3. Anywhere For You    
  4. I Am Lost In Time    
  5. Starstruck    
  6. Mr. Snow Leopard    
  7. Lost In Space    
  8. I Don't Wanna Kill For You (Tonight)    
  9. Just Wait    
  10. Another Night Without You    
  11. Pitch Black    
  12. Long Time Ago    
  13. Supernova    
  14. Nowhere To Run    
  15. The End
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.