Album Reviews

Nothing Personal/Something Personal
Hankshaw Nothing Personal Punk Rock Theory
Monday, July 19, 2021 - 08:21
submitted by

Hankshaw was a short-lived emo band from Florida with only one full-length to their name. Originally released on Network Sound back in 1997, ‘Nothing Personal’ was later re-released on No Idea Records only to go out of print again. Thanks to New Granada Records, this underrated gem is now once again available, completely remastered by Dan Coutant, and accompanied by a compilation album called ‘Something Personal’.

Musically lingering somewhere between Get Up Kids, Sunny Day Real Estate and fellow Floridians Pohgoh and Discount, Hankshaw still makes quite the impression with a solid mix of jangly guitars juxtaposed against a tight rhythm section, non-stop energy and Harold Hasselback’s high-pitched vocals that must have confused a lot of people. Meanwhile, strong melodies and general upbeatness of the songs mask pained lyrics that reek of sadness, longing and loss.

Still have a bit of an itch that needs to be scratched after ‘Nothing Personal’? Make sure to check out ‘Something Personal,’ a compilation that brings together songs from the band’s 1998 self-titled 7" and 2000 self-titled EP, as well as a track from a 1996 comp on  Significant Records and a previously unreleased song from 2000 called ‘Angels and Frogs’.


Hankshaw Nothing Personal tracklist:

  1. Joined In The Sky
  2. Those Few Minutes
  3. Another Town
  4. Reprimand
  5. Good Things
  6. At Your Convenience
  7. Living Proof
  8. N. Cater
  9. Lockjaw
  10. Miscellaneous


Hankshaw Something Personal tracklist:

  1. Angels And Frogs
  2. Lead Suits Of Armor
  3. Silk Noose
  4. Freedom For A Wage
  5. To All Slain Hope
  6. Kutz
  7. Maple
  8. Not The One
  9. Track #5 (Living Proof demo)
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.