Album Reviews

Hangtime Invasion Punk Rock Theory
Monday, April 22, 2019 - 10:20
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Meet Hangtime, a new-ish melodic punk rock band out of Toronto. They have just released ‘Invasion,’ their first EP, and manage to cover a lot of ground in just 20 minutes. There’s plenty of goodness wrapped up in these six slices of prime punk rock and apparently this is just a teaser of things to come with the band already having two albums worth of material ready to go.

Hangtime manage to be all poppy with plenty of slick melodies and sugary backup ooh’s and aah’s while carefully avoiding to let go of their fierceness. ‘See You Soon’ and ‘She’ will make you think of No Use For A Name while opener ‘A Thousand Years Ago’ brought back memories of Junction 18. If anyone still remembers those guys.

It’s not like Hangtime are reinventing the wheel on ‘Invasion,’ but they do offer some solid melodic punk rock. Absolutely nothing wrong with that.


Track listing:

  1. INVASION    
  2. A Thousand Years Ago    
  3. One Nine Nine Five    
  4. See You Soon    
  5. Can I Take You Out    
  6. She    
  7. Lucky