Album Reviews

Death Is Nothing To Us
Fiddlehead Death Is Nothing To Us Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, December 6, 2023 - 21:25
submitted by

I wouldn’t go as far as calling Fiddlehead a supergroup. But with its members having spent time in Have Heart, Basement, Big Contest, Stand Off and Nuclear Age, it’s fair to say that Fiddlehead had some expectations to live up to right from the start. Which the band more than delivered on with debut album ‘Springtime And Blind’ and even more so with 2021’s ‘Between The Richness’. So how does ‘Death Is Nothing To Us’ blend in with Fiddlehead’s other albums?

Clocking in at barely 25 minutes, ‘Death Is Nothing To Us’ is an exercise in conciseness, while still managing to sound well-rounded and complete. Throughout the twelve new tracks, the band isn’t treading any real new ground, but by being simultaneously being more melodic and aggressive, they do stretch the post-hardcore sound that they have become known for further than before.

Lyrically, Flynn delivers twelve more ruminations about love, loss and depression that are as honest and open as they are relatable. And while love songs don’t often find their way on a hardcore album, the morbidly upbeat‘Fifteen To Infinity’ is a shining example of how it can and should be done.


Death Is Nothing To Us track list:

  1. The Deathlife
  2. Sleepyhead
  3. Loserman
  4. True Hardcore (II)
  5. Welcome to the Situation
  6. Sullenboy
  7. Give It Time (II)
  8. Queen of Limerick
  9. The Woes
  10. Fiddleheads
  11. Fifteen To Infinity
  12. Going To Die
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.