Album Reviews

High Crimes
The Damned Things High Crimes Punk Rock Theory
Friday, May 10, 2019 - 16:31
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Hey, remember 2010’s ‘Ironiclast’ by supergroup The Damned Things? You know, the band that featured Joe Trohman and Andy Hurley of Fall Out Boy, Scott Ian and Rob Caggiano of Anthrax and Keith Buckley and Josh Newton of Every Time I Die? Well, they are back!

Not only do they have a slightly altered line-up with Alkaline Trio’s Dan Andriano in lieu of Rob Caggiano, they also have a new album called ‘High Crimes’. If you are scratching your head trying to think of what a mix Every Time I Die, Fall Out Boy, Anthrax and Alkaline Trio would sound like, well... it sounds like an oddly balanced mix of classic rock ‘n roll with a modern flavor and some nice metallic crunch just to spice things up even more.

Opener ‘Cells’ immediately kicks the door down and turns the volume on your stereo all the way up so that the cheerleader chant that opens ‘Something Good’ can be heard loud and proud. The Queens of the Stone Age-y ‘Omen’ and ‘Carry A Brick’ proceed by bringing the roof down while closer ‘The Fire Is Down’ tramples on the smoldering ashes that remain of what was once your house.

It might not be the best album you will hear this year, but it’s loud and it’s fun. And sometimes that’s all you need.


Track listing:

  1. Cells
  2. Something Good
  3. Invincible
  4. Omen
  5. Carry A Brick
  6. Storm Charmer
  7. Young Hearts
  8. Keep Crawling
  9. Let Me Be (Your Girl)
  10. The Fire Is Cold
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.