Album Reviews

B Boys - Dada
Monday, June 19, 2017 - 19:18
submitted by

Just like album title “Dada” has nothing to do with the avant-garde art movement from way back when, B Boys have nothing to do with hip hop or breakdance. Instead, this Brookly-based trio churned out fourteen post-punk tracks that harken back to genre stalwarts Gang Of Four and The Fall while high-fiving contemporary acts like Parquet Courts and Protomartyr.


Songs bounce all over the place, fueled by restless drums and jagged yet melodic riffs and a vocalist who likes to shout more than anything else. The band is pretty relentless as they charge through the album with plenty of nervous energy that makes them sound like they are always standing on the tip of their toes, ready to dodge whatever it is life throws their way.


Check out opening track “B Boys Anthem” to get a feel for what they are about. The other tracks pretty much follow suit and make for an enjoyable, if somewhat same-y trip.


Track listing:

  1. B Boys Anthem
  2. Another Thing
  3. Discipline
  4. Psycho (Still)
  5. Flatlands
  6. Distance
  7. I
  8. Energy
  9. 1 2 Reminder
  10. Fade
  11. Fear It
  12. Time
  13. Walking
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.