Album Reviews

The Atom Age
The Atom Age The Atom Age Punk Rock Theory
Tuesday, November 14, 2023 - 21:24
submitted by

Garage punk rockers The Atom Age - consisting of vocalists/guitarists Peter Niven and Ryan Perras, as well as drummer Tim Harman, saxophonist Brendan Frye, organist Fred Brott, and bassist Randy Moore - recently released their new and self-titled album via Asian Man Records.

They get right down to the nitty gritty with the one-two punch of ‘Honeybees’ and the title track, two blasts of horn- and organ-enhanced energy that will make you think of The Hives and Rocket From The Crypt. They keep up the pace with cuts like The Cramps-esque mayhem of ‘I Was A Rock N Roll Narcissist’ and ‘Who’s Interfering?,’ which has Hives written all over it. All caps.

It’s not exactly original and it doesn’t quite scratch the itch like their influences do, but The Atom Age’s self-titled album is guaranteed to get you out of any stupor you might be in.


The Atom Age track list:

  1. Honeybee
  2. New Season
  3. High Class Motherfuckers
  4. I Was a Rock N Roll Narcissist  
  5. Who’s Interfering
  6. Toothache
  7. I Wanna See Something Strange
  8. Til We’re Shakin
  9. Believe
  10. Best Technique
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.