Album Reviews

Angel Dust Brand New Soul Punk Rock Theory
Friday, September 8, 2023 - 14:52
submitted by

With Turnstile’s Pat McCrory and Dan Fang role reduced to cameos on Angel Du$t’s fifth album, ‘Brand New Soul,’ Justice Tripp is more than ever the sole creative force behind the band. The Turnstile connection is still there sonically though, with Tripp trying out new things while moving away ever further from his time spent in Trapped Under Ice. Which is a thing to be admired, sure. Unfortunately, the sonic experiments on ‘Brand New Soul’ are more hit than miss.

From the uninspired, very Turnsile-esque ‘Space Jam’ to the jangly, slightly psychedelic alt-pop of ‘Don’t Stop’ and ‘Born 2 Run’ and closing track ‘In The Tape Deck,’ which sounds like a Weezer song on Oxy, there is a lot going on on ‘Brand New Soul’. It’s a shame though that it all feels a bit disjointed and isn’t nearly as memorable or innovative as - sorry to mention them again - Turnstile.


BRAND NEW SOUL track list:

  1. Brand New Soul
  2. Love Slam
  3. Don't Stop
  4. Racecar
  5. Space Jam
  6. Born 2 Run
  7. Muck Motors
  8. Very Aggressive
  9. Sippin Lysol
  10. I'm Not Ready
  11. Fuel For The Fire
  12. Waste of Space
  13. In The Tape Deck
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.