Album Reviews

Le Feu Et Le Sable
Airstream Futures Le Feu Et Le Sable Punk Rock Theory
Friday, April 17, 2020 - 22:44
submitted by

Chicago’s Airstream Futures skip the foreplay and get right down to business on opening track ‘Cemetery Sparrow’. Pummeling drums and a snappy bassline demand your attention, Jeff Dean’s riffs (The Bomb, The Methadones, All Eyes West) keep your ears glued to the speakers and vocalist Devon Carson sounds energetic and confident as she tackles her experiences with depression. Saying they are off to a good start is something of an understatement.

On the follow-up to their 2017 debut ‘Spirale Infernale’, Airstream Futures work their way through a dozen songs as they stick to the abovementioned formula. It’s a sound that works well for them, holing up in that sweet spot between mid-tempo punk rock and alternative. Tightly knit rhythms, massive guitars and Devon’s vocals soaring over it all. As you work your way down the track listing, it can be a bit of a challenge to tell some of the songs apart but it also leads to solid tunes like ‘King of Prussia’, ‘My Moral Line’ and the melancholy closer that is ‘Faster Than You Know’.


Track listing:

  1. Cemetery Sparrow
  2. Strangers and Fiction
  3. King of Prussia
  4. Stuborn Bones
  5. Brighter Blue
  6. My Moral Line
  7. Beauty Blind
  8. Architect
  9. Cut Your Own Brakes
  10. Blue Light District
  11. Waves
  12. Faster Than You Know
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.