Album Reviews

Acht Eimer Hühnerherzen
Acht Eimer Hühnerherzen - Acht Eimer Hühnerherzen
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 18:32
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

My German isn’t that great... but I’m pretty this band’s name translates as Eight Buckets Of Chicken Hearts. This three-piece out of Berlin plays half-acoustic nylon-punk. Or cacophony. Or fear of commitment. Or my personal favorite, powerviolence-folk. Yeah, they come off as a weird bunch, but the songs on their self-titled album are a helluva lot of fun to listen to and basically boil down to quirky indie pop with a punky attitude.

Vocalist Apocalypse Vega (I told you they are a bit weird) can seemingly write lyrics about anything and everything, manages to come up with solid songs on her nylon string guitar and as a result, ended up with a whopping fourteen tracks worth of upbeat rhythms and catchy melodies. Things do start to sound a bit the same after the first half of the album, but it never takes away from the fun.


Track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Neu in Dur
  3. Mittelmaß
  4. Sonntagslied
  5. Tränengas
  6. Händy
  7. Eisenhüttenstadt
  8. Eis auf Ex
  9. Alles etwas übertrieben
  10. Lederhelene
  11. Kerosin
  12. Nummer Neun
  13. Jeden Abend
  14. Und tschüss
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.