Upcoming Releases

Young Guv GUV IV Punk Rock Theory
Tuesday, April 19, 2022 - 14:43
submitted by

Just last month Young Guv (aka songwriter Ben Cook) released his latest album, GUV III, and today the ever-prolific musician is already back to announce its sequel, GUV IV, due out June 24th from Run For Cover Records and Hand Drawn Dracula (Canada).

Where GUV III encapsulates Cook's most instantly accessible guitar pop songwriting (earning praise from the likes of Stereogum, SPIN Magazine, Paste Magazine, Uproxx, and many more), GUV IV represents the most sonically adventurous side of Young Guv. Cook has an unparalleled ability to write perfect power pop but GUV IV highlights his expertise with the many other sounds and styles that have dotted Young Guv's expansive catalog over the years. The record effortlessly moves between hazy, Madchester-inspired rave ups, twangy California jangle, and even homemade sophisti-pop--while always retaining Cook's undeniable melodies. GUV IV's lead single "Change Your Mind" sees Cook teaming with frequent collaborator James Matthew VII for a blend of hazy hooks, pedal steel guitar, and a nearly psychedelic mood that transports the listen to the New Mexican desert where it was written.


GUV IV track list:

  1. Too Far Gone
  2. Change Your Mind
  3. Sign From God
  4. Overcome
  5. Love Me Don't Leave Me
  6. Cry 2 Sleep
  7. Cold In The Summer
  8. Maybe I Should Luv Somebody Else
  9. Helium
  10. Nervous Around U
  11. No Where At All
  12. Wind In My Blood