Upcoming Releases

Swim Past The Breakers
Telethon Swim Past The Breakers Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 18:03
submitted by

For fans of piano rock, pseudo-VCR-home-video, the 90s, and hell, even The Home Depot, comes Telethon's new album, Swim Out Past The Breakers, out August 30 on Take This To Heart Records (pre-order). Named after a lyric from the song "Santa Monica" by Everclear, Telethon vocal mastermind Kevin Tully was inspired by the nihilistic but blissed-out imagery of the line: "swim out past the breakers, watch the world die."

Swim Out Past The Breakers is made up of 15 tracks that ride the cracks between the violent, overwhelming intensity and self-importance of young adulthood, and aging-out into a sort of comfortable submission to our conditions. It's a monumental, maximalist work that spans punk rock, folk, bedroom pop, country, and pop, all meandering familiar streets together. An army of collaborators helped bring it to life including Chris Farren, Franz Nicolay (The Hold Steady), Gary Louris (The Jayhawks), Elise Okusami (Oceanator), and Peter Hess (World/Inferno Friendship Society), among many others.



  1. Shit (Jansport)
  2. Selfstarter A.E.
  3. Do You Know What I Mean (or Not)?
  4. Outstandingly (The Riviera)
  5. Panorama (The Polynesian)
  6. Masterationalizer
  7. Checker Drive
  8. House of the Future, Pt. 4
  9. Marlinspike
  10. Positively Clark Street
  11. Cyan
  12. Worm Dirt
  13. Travelator
  14. Barry's Interlude / Bad Dudes
  15. Snowing (Alien vs. Bandana Man)
  16. Matrix (One Down At Least)