Upcoming Releases

Samiam Stowaway Punk Rock Theory
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 - 18:07
submitted by

Samiam have returned! Today the Oakland, CA punk legends have announced, Stowaway, their first new album in 12 years, due out March 31st via Pure Noise Records (pre-order). The album picks up right where Samiam left off with all of the energy, melody, and pathos of their classic work, proving exactly why the group are still one of the most endearing and enduring punk bands of their generation.

To mark the album's announcement, Samiam have shared its first single "Crystallized." Bursting out of the gate with crunchy guitars and vocalist Jason Beebout's distinctly tuneful bellow, the track packs a massive chorus that's sure to please longtime fans and new listeners alike.

From forming in the Oakland DIY punk scene in 1988, to eventually experiencing the major label alt rock feeding frenzy of the 1990s first hand, Samiam have experienced countless ups and downs in their 30+ years as a band. But their output has always remained incredibly consistent and Stowaway is no exception. Recorded piecemeal in different studios throughout the challenges of the past few years, the album reflects Samiam's knack for turning difficult circumstances into anthemic singalongs. Stowaway may reckon with time, failure, and frustration but in classic Samiam fashion, the hard luck stories are delivered via some of the band's most energetic and hooky songs to date. "If you're lucky, you get this sort of sense when you're in a band that you're participating in something that's important to other people," explains guitarist Sergie Loobkoff. "And I still get that with Samiam." Stowaway might have been over a decade in the making, but it was well worth the wait.


Stowaway track list:

  1. Lake Speed
  2. Crystallized
  3. Lights Out, Little Hustler
  4. Shoulda Stayed
  5. Shut Down
  6. Scout Knife
  7. Monterey Canyon
  8. Natural Disasters
  9. Stanley
  10. Highwire
  11. Something
  12. Stowaway