Upcoming Releases

The Heat
Punt The Heat Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, July 22, 2023 - 12:00
submitted by

Brooklyn-based fuzz punk duo Punt, are excited to announce the Friday September 22nd release of their long awaited sophomore album titled The Heat. Alongside this announcement they share the first taste of The Heat in the double-headed form of “I’m Bad” b/w ”Take Me Home”. 

With “I’m Bad” the duo deliver a fearless dive down the rabbit hole of tenacious ambition. Vocalist/bassist, Eli Frank explains, “​​it’s about not knowing how to get what you want, but you know you’re meant to be doing big shit. It probably won’t happen, but fuck it cuz it’s all about the ride anyway. That ride into the pits of hell baby."

“Take Me Home” finds Punt placing heaving hooks front and center as Frank explores the twisted mind of a boozed up “macho idiot out to pick a fight”.

Punt creates short and sharp sonic explosions that capture the creative collision of Eli Frank, and drummer Bill Michel. Strong wills, stronger opinions, and a shared uncompromising outlook on what constitutes musical legitimacy, are served up in two-minute manifestos that’ll kick anyone to the curb in their quest to deliver unflinching realness.

First forged in the 2010s, Punt initially burned out as quick as they caught fire. Introduced by a mutual friend, Frank and Michel set out to write and record their debut album in a single week. The resulting album Oil was released in 2015 and soon after the duo went their separate ways.

After an 8 year break, following the release of Oil, the duo were drawn back together during a sweltering NYC heat wave in 2021. The resulting album, The Heat, hauls listeners through the grimy underbelly of the city, exploring the “random terrible thoughts” in Frank’s brain and delivering a fuzzed out and riff heavy salute to all things noir.


The Heat track list:

  1. Catch Ya
  2. Bat Tat
  3. Gettin Late
  4. Take Me Home
  5. Can’t Roll
  6. I’m Bad
  7. You’re Done
  8. Take  A Seat
  9. Walk Away
  10. Red Light
  11. Sicko
  12. Look the Other Way
  13. Devil Master