Upcoming Releases

This Is The Blackout
Punitive Damage This Is The Blackout Punk Rock Theory
Monday, October 3, 2022 - 10:00
submitted by

Pacific Northwest hardcore upstarts, Punitive Damage, have announced their debut full-length, This Is The Blackout, due out October 14th from Atomic Action Records. Flying by in just 18 minutes, the album is a blast of concentrated fury that demands the listener's attention and never lets go. Vocalist Jerkova brings an uncompromising worldview that lends a palpable urgency to the band's sound, creating a connection between the songs and real life stakes.

To mark the album's announcement, Punitive Damage have shared its first single "Drawn Lines." In just one minute flat the band manage to swing from stomping punk attack to blisteringly fast speeds, before landing on a pummeling breakdown in the track's final seconds.

Recorded by Taylor Young (Regional Justice Center, God's Hate, Drain), This Is The Blackout, sounds like a powder keg ready to explode. Amongst the vicious riffs and lightning fast drums, Jerkova's lyrics pull no punches. “A lot of hardcore stuff tends to have some trite bullshit about ‘my brotherhood’ or ‘don’t disrespect me,’ but those things just aren’t super relevant to me,” she explains. “I wanted to try and really zero in on the things that have impacted me, so I wrote a lot from the perspective I wanted to try and really zero in on the things that have impacted me and painted my lens. So I wrote a lot about what I saw and felt as the daughter of immigrants, and the resulting isolation, friction, and disapproval that came from being Mexican in a country with little next to no Mexican or Latin American community.” The result is hardcore at its best–a record that manages to be as deeply lived in and personal as it is unrelenting and aggressive.


This Is The Blackout track listing:

  1. Pure Bloods / This Is The Sixth Sunrise
  2. Nothing
  3. Drawn Lines
  4. Fool
  5. Big Man
  6. Race To The Grave
  7. Resistance Within A Breath
  8. Legacy
  9. Sangre Y Oro / The Blight of Christ
  10. Bottom Feeder
  11. ¿Que? ¿Me Tienes Miedo Ahora?
  12. Leech III
  13. This Is The Blackout