Upcoming Releases

Pity Party Concrete Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 - 19:29
submitted by

On first listen, Pity Party’s new album Concrete sounds pissed off, much like some of their biggest inspirations The Distillers, Worriers, and War on Women. But upon further inspection, it’s the Oakland, CA-based band’s heart that comes through the most on this high-energy, heavy-hitting record about coping and healing through prolonged trauma.

Today Pity Party shares a new video for their track “Empathy,” the second to be released from Concrete after last month’s debut single “Masculinity Is A Prison.” Written while the band was on tour last year, “Empathy” gives vocalist Sarah Levy (she/her) a chance to release everything she was feeling on the road from anger and frustration to sadness.

“I felt so on-the-edge, hyper-vigilant and scared, especially having dealt with sexual abuse on tour,” Sarah explains. “This is my way to communicate something I think all trauma survivors want their abusers to feel: empathy.”

Pity Party is an unrelenting and exciting emo/pop-punk band from Oakland, CA. Characterized by their frenzied, unforgettable live shows and fierce dedication to community outreach and mental health advocacy, they’ve been spreading their wild, barely-holding-it-together energy across the US since 2014.


Track listing:

  1. Respite
  2. Empathy    
  3. Concrete
  4. Masculinity is a Prison    
  5. Apathy
  6. Fester
  7. Temperance
  8. Push