Upcoming Releases

Gone Dark
Human Impact Gone Dark Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, June 27, 2024 - 10:43
submitted by

Human Impact, the laser-precision noise-rock alliance of Unsane frontman Chris Spencer, Cop Shoot Cop's squall-maker Jim Coleman, Made Out of Babies' Eric Cooper and Daughters' Jon Syverson, release Gone Dark, the band's second full-length album, on Oct. 4 via Ipecac Recordings. Gone Dark is a fiercer, tighter upgrade of their taut grooves, brittle guitar shards, impassioned shouts and clouds of dystopian noise. Not a cry from the darkness but a shout through the darkness, a robust proclamation of resilience and opposition in the face of impending apocalypse.

"We were all looking to go with something more raw and aggressive than the previous releases." says Spencer. "There was a real desire to capture more of what the live performances had been like. With this one, we had plenty of time to develop a full, cohesive album joining songs together with interstitial pieces more like a live performance would be. With Gone Dark we have arrived at a place where we fully understand who we are as a band, so it's a bit more focused and relentless."

The Human Impact arsenal is more formidable than ever thanks to the addition of bassist Eric Cooper (Made Out of Babies, Bad Powers) and drummer Jon Syverson (Daughters). Spencer had spent the 2020 Covid lockdown working on a cabin in the East Texas woods and would travel into Austin for informal jam sessions with the pair in the bass player's garage. Friendly blasts through vintage Unsane songs ultimately resulted in the rhythm section being fully absorbed into the Unsane and Human Impact lineups for their 2022 European tours.


Gone Dark track listing:

  1. Collapse
  2. Hold On
  3. Destroy to Rebuild
  4. Reform
  5. Imperative
  6. Disconnect
  7. Corrupted
  8. Repeat
  9. Lost All Trust