Upcoming Releases

Ooh La La
Guster Ooh La La Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 - 18:58
submitted by

Guster is proud to announce their eagerly awaited new album, Ooh La La, available Friday, May 17 via Ocho Mule Records.

Guster’s ninth studio album and first new LP in more than five years, Ooh La La is heralded by today’s premiere of the stunning first single, “Keep Going,” available everywhere now. An official music video premieres today on the official Guster YouTube channel. With its luminous harmonies and gauzy guitar tones, “Keep Going” serves as a lovely encapsulation of the new album’s emotional undercurrent, telegraphing an irrepressible joy in the face of turmoil and unrest.

“Most of these songs were written against the backdrop of what felt like an apocalypse,” says Guster lead vocalist/guitarist/bassist Ryan Miller. “It was such a transformative time, and we were dealing with a lot of existential questions about what it means to be a father, a husband, a creative person in the midst of all the chaos.”

“One thing we’ve continually done as a band is acknowledge what’s going on in our world but still bring some positivity to the music,” says guitarist/vocalist Adam Gardner. “We’re always going to be real about what’s happening, but we still want to leave people with a feeling of hope.”

Mainly produced by Josh Kaufman (The National, The Hold Steady) at Woodstock, NY’s Isokon Studio, Ooh La La marks a bold departure from its predecessor, 2019’s acclaimed Look Alive. This time, Guster has carved out a lush and acclaimed expansive sound rich in acoustic guitars and graceful piano work. With additional production from Ron Aniello (Bruce Springsteen) and Rich Costey (Death Cab for Cutie, Of Monsters and Men), Ooh La La radiates an undeniable warmth, even as its songs delve into the more daunting aspects of modern life.

“When I listen back to the album now it feels like there’s depth everywhere,” says drummer Brian Rosenworcel. “There’s not a moment where we strike a chord that isn’t meaningful to us. Nobody was going to accept a song that didn’t hit at a certain level, and it feels good to still have that passion more than 30 years into our career.”

“We feel lucky that we’ve created a dynamic where there’s no real separation between us and our fans,” says Gardner. “We’re all part of a community, and it’s theirs just as much as it’s ours.”

“One of the main reasons we’re still a band is the fans who’ve come to see us for years,” adds Miller, “the people who show us the tattoos they’ve gotten with our lyrics. It inspires us to stay creative and stay fearless, instead of just making the same record over and over. Everything we do is in service of that connection, and at this point I’d say we’re definitely lifers.”


Ooh La La track list:

  1. This Heart is Occupied
  2. When We Were Stars
  3. All Day
  4. My Kind
  5. Keep Going
  6. Gauguin, Cézanne (Everlasting Love)
  7. Witness Tree
  8. Black Balloon
  9. The Elevator
  10. Maybe We’re Alright