Upcoming Releases

Surface Noise
Gentlemen Rogues Surface Noise Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, January 28, 2024 - 10:48
submitted by

Austin Texas quartet Gentlemen Rogues celebrate aggressive guitar pop anthems — bearing the influences of The Replacements, Superdrag, Jawbreaker, and similar visionaries — and have been gaining momentum and increased attention. Since their debut in 2011, the band — Danny Dunlap (guitar/vocals), Josh Power (drums), John Christoffel (guitar), and Dave Hawkins (bass, vocals) — have honed their hooks over numerous singles, EPs, and the 2022 full-length collection, A History of Fatalism.

Now, the band have returned with the recently announced full length album titled, "Surface Noise", a brand new LP of well-turned guitar pop, complete with roaring chords and propulsive rhythms behind Dunlap’s clever and cultured lyrics. The new LP will be co-released on February 16, 2024 by Double Helix Records & Shifting Sounds and was recorded and mixed by Kevin Butler at Test Tube Audio (Austin, TX) and mastered by Jason Livermore at The Blasting Room (Fort Collins, CO). Surface Noise plays like a singles collection. Tracks like “Involuntary Solitary,” “Never the Bride,” and “All Out Crush” deploy infectious songcraft with dynamic navigation and precision — another spirited collection of power-pop earworms for discriminating fans of winsome, punk-tinged, rock n roll, melodicism.


Surface Noise track list:

  1. Do the Resurrection!
  2. Involuntary Solitary
  3. All Out Crush
  4. Never the Bride
  5. Days in the Dayroom
  6. Moonstruck
  7. Francy
  8. Troubled Troubadour
  9. Half Empty, Half Fool
  10. 60’s Damage